The Medieval Manuscripts at Maynooth
Explorations in the Unknown
Peter J. Lucas & Angela M. Lucas
A new book has been launched giving a comprehensive guide to 16 medieval manuscripts currently on display in the Russell Library. The manuscripts, from the collection of St Patrick’s College Maynooth, have lain largely untouched for nearly 200 years, with most of the works not identified until now.
The manuscripts range in date from the 11th century to 1529 and almost all are associated with the Church. There are five which came from Liege and four from the Benedictine abbey of St Jacques, whose collections were auctioned in 1788. While they are essentially all written in Latin, some contain French, Italian and Dutch text. The collection grew over decades, mainly in the 19th century, and reflects the tastes of a succession of senior members of the college plus a few donors. Two of the manuscripts belonged to Laurence Renehan, President of St Patrick’s College, Maynooth (1845 – 1857), an enthusiastic collector of books and manuscripts. Monsignor Hugh G Connolly, President of St Patrick’s College, Maynooth, said at the Launch: “We are delighted that the manuscripts are receiving the attention they deserve and congratulate the authors and all who played a part in making this unique publication and research project possible. This magnificent publication together with the dedicated industry and skill of the Russell Library staff in curating our historical collection is a wonderful testimony to the excellent relationship between our two institutions.”
The manuscripts are on view by appointment at the Russell Library at Maynooth University.